Tags

, , ,

I recently attended a TEDx event 2 weeks ago in Cape Town, check out link: http://tedxcapetowned.org/

If you not familiar with the international TED talks, this is the website http://www.ted.com/

I absolutely love watching these videos, and for the first time I had the opportunity to attend a live event right here in Cape Town!

TED is… a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started out (in 1984) as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design. Since then its scope has become ever broader.

TEDx is… created in the spirit of TED’s mission, “ideas worth spreading,” the TEDx program is designed to give communities, organizations and individuals the opportunity to stimulate dialogue through TED-like experiences at the local level. TEDx events are fully planned and coordinated independently, on a community-by-community basis.

Now that we got through all the definitions ‘n all.. phew!… let’s get on to some inspiration!

I’m not going to go through all the speakers that inspired me – coz my post might become too long. Go check out the website.

I’d like to tell you the feeling and thoughts it left me with.

But do yourself a favour and go and have a look at the video’s of these guys and the good they are doing in education. These are ordinary citizens doing extraordinary things in people’s lives http://tedxcapetowned.org/

It left me feeling like I could make a difference. It left me feeling that I’m not the only crazy with crazy ideas 🙂 It left me feeling energized to keep on with what I’m doing.

It left me feeling.

It left me thinking that we need to work together with big organizations and find ways of benefit through education and businesses.

Businesses need to make profit. Education needs education. How can the two help each other and still make a win win for both sides?

It left me thinking how different the less privileged schools are vs the more privileged schools. How can this divide be undivided? … sounds too much like a math question to me.

It left me thinking why doesn’t the curriculum get adapted to the child, instead of the child being adapted to the curriculum?

It left me thinking.

I got the chance to engage with a principle from a primary school for disabled children. I engaged with a deputy principle of a high school, and I engaged with the principle of a college. All very different schools with different views, teachers, and children. One thing I got from all of them is that they know their kids. They know their kids needs, they know the realities of their everyday life, and they do the best they can with what they know. And they adapt. They adapt to survive. They adapt their teaching methods. They adapt or die.

Lastly, I learned that we are all still learning. It’s the willingness to do better that counts, not the money or the divide in education.

As Winston Churchill puts it “Success is not final; Failure is not fatal. It’s the courage to continue that counts!”

May these people and more, continue the good work they do for educating our children. And may my first TEDx experience lead to many more experiences and learning.

Well done to all!

